The Boobs Have IT.

My time that is.  When I came up with the idea of writing this blog last December I knew it was doomed from the start.  Whenever an idea comes, the following thoughts are why it won’t work.  But this was different.  I knew it was a good idea.  The problem is that parenting and eating well and dining out are all very broad subjects.

The original plan was to encourage parents and children to help me review restaurants.  I still very much love the idea of cataloging the adventures that are had while eating with children.  Their senses are sharper and therefore can be better at discerning flavors if given the chance.  Plus they often drop things and crawl under table to retrieve.  So they certainly see things from a much different perspective.

Then my life became centered around breastfeeding.  I breastfed my first child successfully and it never occurred to me that problems would arise with my second.  As soon as I retrieved my baby from the floor (that’ll be a whole other post someday) and breathed life into her, our new family of 4 crawled into bed and we welcomed her as she nursed for over an hour and a half.  Perfection.
Then for the next 2 months after that, my little human and I couldn’t get it down.  Literally.  It was horrible and after much crying from both of us we finally learned how to work together.  It’s one of the most intimate and sacred experiences to prepare food for another person.  To actually make it with your body is even more so and much more emotional for both parties.

A good friend of mine gave me a tip for nursing in public.  The idea was so brilliant I asked her if we should market it to the masses.  She, being another lover of all things material, agreed that it might just pay our “mamas who lunch” bills someday.   Not long after we started our humble planning and research, my friend since 6th grade calls me up to tell me she’s been fired for breastfeeding her child while at work (since this is a legal matter I cannot elaborate at this time).  This has led to lots of anger and hours spent online researching laws and reading about families who have been discriminated against for how they feed their children.  So many stories of restaurant discrimination have come up.

So what’s a girl to do?  I am currently trying to get a better idea of what it is I should be doing with my energetic anger on behalf of my friend.   One of my dreams would be to start a non-profit organization to promote breastfeeding friendliness in restaurants nationwide.  Although she didn’t work in the food business, it’s what I’m most comfortable tackling, I suppose.  So for now I, like many pubescent boys, am only thinking about breasts. And that’s where I’ve been since July.

4 responses to “The Boobs Have IT.

  1. what you should do is continue with what you’re doing, but also channel all that energy into compiling a huge list of links and references about breastfeeding – i.e., why it’s a good thing.

    I think we need this information. We need to know exactly why it’s beneficial, all the ways, all the studies, and what’s in that baby milk, etc.

    Do that for us, and the support will take care of itself, I suspect.

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Sacred: thanks for the comment. The very next morning after I posted this blog I learned about the story of a woman needing this type of help regarding a restaurant situation. Thing sure do move fast when you put yourself out there. Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. you’re welcome to link to the “Thanks for being a Breastfeeding-Friendly Establishment” brochure I created – http://neednap.com/bftybrochure – for your own use and that of your readers. It’s free for non-commercial use.

  4. wow! super!

Leave a Reply

