Kids are the New Black

but I guess there are some people that didn’t get that memo. I find that surprising in a world where US Weekly is one of the most read “news” sources available. Almost every cover features Angelina or Brittney with a kid or 2 dangling off of them. As far as we know every human adult started out as a baby. So what’s with all the haters out there?

haters.gif

I just came across an article about the increasing use of kid-free zones. Restaurants and beaches are starting to either segregate kiddos and their families or exclude them altogether. When Camilla was just under 2 years old a friend of mine invited me to join her at Saba Blue Water Cafe for happy hour appetizers and a drink. I opened the front door holding Camilla, who was asleep in my arms, and was told to wait there. The host went to the back and then returned to inform me that they stopped allowing kids inside but would make an exception. I was still puzzled when I ordered my mojito . It never occurred to me that I wouldn’t be allowed in a food establishment at 4 in the afternoon, especially in a place with the word cafe in the name.

When she woke up she tried my ceviche and loved it. She really really loved it. I don’t know very many kids that devour raw shrimp marinated in citrus juice, but how often are they given the opportunity? I have always seen her mouth as my palate (no pun intended), my blank slate. She was well behaved and I would have left if a tantrum ensued. The point is, this was 2 years ago and I’m still thinking about the mini gastro-adventure we went on that day. The problem with not allowing children at all is that well-behaved ones miss out too.

It wasn’t very far back in history that certain groups of people weren’t allowed in restaurants. Seriously, maybe kids really are the new Black after all. How could anyone deny these darlings gourmet fare?

millyvi.jpg

9 responses to “Kids are the New Black

  1. Good for you that you have raised your child to be respectful of others, but needless to say, they are many mothers who do not control their children’s behavior in public and cause chaos wherever they go. These people are the ones responsible for you and your children not welcomed in some establishments.

  2. Thanks for your comment, madmouser. There are many adults that “misbehave” as well. I can’t tell you how many times a guy has come over to a table when I’m dining with friends to hit on us. Should men not be allowed in public because of the way a few idiots act? And where does it end? Elderly people often talk loudly because they can’t hear. Disruptive? The obese person gobbling down a large portion of steak frites, do I have a right to complain to the maitre’d that the very sight of it makes me sick and is ruining my meal? That’s a sad and sterile world. And from my experience people with such anal retentiveness usually like a sterile environment….like say that of a nice chain restaurant in a fancy new strip mall in a very boring suburb. I never said my daughter doesn’t misbehave. She does and I mis-parent often. It’s called life. Banning a group of people based upon the actions of a few (or even a lot) is racist, ageist, or sexist plain and simple. Just because some parents don’t control their children still does not justify a business refusing to serve a different family. Restaurants have the right to ask someone to leave and that right should be exercised when necessary not as a precaution against a hypothetical situation.

  3. thetracksuitceo

    So Breeda, that means that if we ever do open that restaurant we can’t ban the guys who tuck their shirts into their shorts, no matter how much we’d like to!

  4. Whew, glad you didn’t whip out a boob….don’t get me started, sista friend, don’t even get me started!

  5. This isn’t a new, unfortunately. When I was growing up in the late 70’s and early 80’s, this was common practice not only in restaurants, but also apartment buildings. When my parents separated in 1980, my dad took me along to look at apartments for him. One place said that they had a no-child policy and that I technically shouldn’t have even been in the building viewing the apartment.

  6. Pingback: Conscious Breeders of the World Unite « TrackSuit CEO (version 2.0)

  7. If someone gripes about your kids, just whip out a boob; that’ll distract them!!

  8. get yourself fixed

  9. as a person who works in the resteraunt area, i can see the ups and downs of a no kid policy. A no kid policy would be enjoyable for thoes who work and eat at the place because then you don’t have messes from a child or childs throwing food onto the floor, and you wouldn’t have screaming.
    As a down to this, this does mean that the paticualar resteraunt that does decide to do the policy will loose money from not having families in there.
    Personelly, i would work with the policy and maybe have a policy like no kids below 5 are allowed or something.. because there are places made for kids to just run around and go wild in, but not in a nice sit down resteraunt.

    i also don’t like kids, so i am kind of biased. but i will certaintly meet someone in the middle if it will make them happy.

Leave a Reply

