Casey’s Seafood Cafe – Galveston

I imagine this is the sort of place Rachael Ray would visit because it’s easy on the wallet.  She would probably eat a bite of something and annoyingly close her eyes and say “mmmm” and then I would vow to never go there because I would be covered in my own vomit by the end of the show.  Fortunately for my family and me this is a hypothetical situation and we did in fact eat there Monday for lunch.

After working up an appetite playing on the beach I realized that I needed fish tacos immediately.  Mexican seafood is not something I generally crave so I was surprised by my belly’s inner dialogue.  We drove up and down Seawall Blvd. in search of my request.  Finally I saw the word fish tacos painted on a building and we parked.  When we walked in I was sure we’d made a mistake.  It looked like the kind of place that appeals to the gray-haired set.  Sort of Luby’s-esque.

Our server (which is more PC, server or waitress?) was fabulous!  She was above and beyond.  I didn’t even see her put the bread on the table but when I looked up to give her my drink order it was there.  The butter was just melted enough to spread easily.  I knew the ultimate test would come when I would order the $7.95 fish tacos since it was one of the cheapest things on the menu.  Dan ordered fried mahi-mahi fingers (daddy version of fish sticks) and his came with a bottomless salad.  He was upfront and announced he wouldn’t eat it and would just pass it off to me.  She then asked me what dressing I wanted while I squirmed in my seat sure we’d breached restaurant etiquette.

She recommended the house honey pecan dressing and for a good reason.  It was freakin’ delicious.  Even after I ordered off of the cheap side of the menu she offered us more bread.  Camilla and I were fighting over pieces at one point.  I tried to make the small piece appealing to her by calling it “baby bread”.  Daniel chose a better entree than I did, but I happily ate almost all of mine.  At one point the server asked me if I wanted more of the salad I shouldn’t have been eating.   She offered to bring Camilla’s food out first and always appeared at the perfect time to refill a drink or take a plate.  She even urged me to pack up Camilla’s leftovers for the car ride home.

You should definitely go to Casey’s because it rocks!  Maybe you’ll get lucky enough to sit in Donna’s section.  The only downside of our lunch experience was in the parking lot afterward.  Camilla demanded that we only keep her sandwich and not the chips.  I decided this was a battle definitely not worth fighting so I opened up the container and tossed the chips onto the pavement.  4000 seagulls instantly appeared from nowhere and crapped all over our car.  It was very Alfred Hitchcock.

seagull.jpg 3828 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, TX, 409.762.9625

5 responses to “Casey’s Seafood Cafe – Galveston

  1. Thanks for the tip. I am, as ever, desperately interested in your mission of getting your kids to eat something besides chicken fingers. I’m thinking of having a family day in Galveston soon, and I’ll be sure to check this place out.

    By the way, not to threadjack (I swear!) but I posted something today about my favorite sandwich and I thought you might be interested.

  2. Pingback: How To Increase Productivity Using Your Kitchen Timer « TrackSuit CEO

  3. thetracksuitceo

    When you threw those chips down I seriously thought we were being swarmed by the locusts of the apocalypse.
    Glad they were just seagulls!

  4. I believe Rachel Ray would say “Yum-O!”. Barf. But mmm Mahi Mahi.

  5. becks,
    you’re right and that’s even worse

Leave a Reply

